cricket team

What next for team India?

Ever since India’s defeat in the world cup semifinal against New Zealand, there have been some talks on giving white ball captaincy to the highest run-scorer in world cup 2019 and currently the vice-captain of team India, Rohit Sharma. We can’t argue his captaincy as he has 3 IPL titles in his bag whereas Virat Kohli hasn’t been quite successful as a captain.

But the question is:- Is this the right time? 

Some of us will agree to this, some will not. Although the two batsmen are currently holding first and second positions in ODI rankings and have a good camaraderie between them but snatching captaincy in such a short span would surely affect their relationship.

cricket team

India is now on tour of West Indies where they have to play 3 T20s, 3 ODIs and 2 tests starting from 3rd August. There have been some chats before the selection of the team that Virat Kohli will be on a rest alongside Jasprit Bumrah and MS Dhoni but as soon as he heard about the statement of a BCCI Functionary (regarding captaincy to Rohit Sharma), he is now gearing himself up for the tour. If India would’ve won the semis then there wouldn’t have been this issue coming up. One match can put you in jeopardy even if you are the world’s best. Besides this fact, young players will also try their fate on the upcoming tour. New players need to be groomed for the future. Selectors will now have a close eye on their performances.

India’s squad for three T20Is: 

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for three ODIs:

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed

India’s squad for two Tests:

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul,
Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Legends never die

Kobe Bryant a die heart fan of Los Angeles Lakers team and one of the best LA Layers player in NBA. He dreamt to be the best basketball player and made that happen through his passion and dedication. He started his career with jersey number eight in 1996 and retired scoring 60 points in the […]

IPL 2020 Auction Stats

The auction is to be held on December 19 for the next season of the Indian Premier League. Four times IPL winning team Mumbai Indians have the least money for the players’ auction to be held in Kolkata. At the same time, the Kings XI Punjab is at top as far as keeping the most […]