50th Anniversary of International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

50th Anniversary of International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

November was eventful especially the end week, it was the 50th Anniversary of International Film Festival of India (IFFI), Goa was again studded with stars from all around the world, and 200 films from 76 countries were screened during this nine day event, before we discuss winners of the awards we have to talk about the opening ceremony.

The film festival’s opening was held at Goa’s Shyama Prasad Stadium on November 20, it was hosted by Karan Johar, a short film on Goa’s former Chief Minister Manohar Parikar was also screened at opening ceremony, then Isabelle Huppert was honoured with IFFI Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by Superstar Rajnikanth bestowed with a special award called Icon of the Golden Jubilee.

50th Anniversary of International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

These were the picks that were awarded an IFFI award, Rwanda an Italian film directed by Riccardo Salvetti won The ICFT – UNESCO Gandi Medal, Best Debut Feature Film of a Director was awarded to Amin Sidi Boumediene for Abou Leila and Marius Olteanu for Monsters, Special Jury Award was given to Pema Tseden for his movie Balloon, Best Actor Female was awarded to Usha Jadhav for her portrayal of ‘Prabha Mai’ in Marathi movie called ‘Mai Ghatt : Crime No. 103/2005’, while the Title of Best Actor Male was given to Seu Jorge for portrayal of his character Carlos Marighella in the movie Marighella, Award for Best Director was won by Lijo Jose Pellissery for his movie Jallikattu, and the Golden Peacock Award was given to ‘Particles’ which is a French-Swiss Drama directed by Blaise Harrison and produced by Estelle Fialon.

The closing ceremony was as stellar as its opening, Kunal Kapoor and Sonal Kulkarni were hosts of the evening and the event started with acknowledging all the great peoples who have contributed to Indian Cinema, Actor Prem Chopra, Music Composer Ilaiyaraaja, Assamese filmmaker Manju Borah, Actor Aravind Swamy, Manipuri filmmaker Haobam Paban Kumar and Kathak Legend Birju Maharaj were felicitated with Shawl and a Memento in Presence of Chief Minister of Goa Pramod Sawant, Governor of Goa Satya Pal Malik, Babul Supriyo Union Minister, Ravi Kishan, Parliament Member Roopa Ganguly, Amit Khare Information and Broadcasting Secretary and Goa Chief Secretary Parimal Rai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


movie review good newwz

Movie Review : Good Newwz

CAST : Akshay Kumar Kareena Kapoor Khan Diljit Dosanjh Kiara Advani Director: Raj Mehta Genre: Comedy Review : The movie good newwz, is a full on entertainment package and can be enjoyed with your family. The first half of the movie is focused on both the couples, wanting to have a baby; but also how […]

pati patni aur woh

Movie Review : Pati Patni aur Woh

Cast : Kartik Aryan as Abhinav Tyagi(Pati) Bhumi Pednekar as Vedika Tripathi(Patni) Ananya Panday as Tapasya Singh (Woh) Aparshakti Khurana as Fahim Rizvi Directed by : Mudassar Aziz About the movie : The movie is based on the concept of extramarital affair in a middle class family. Kartik Aryan as Abhinav Tripathi who is a […]